Honors Faculty

About Our Faculty

The FSCJ Honors Program has talented and innovative professors who provide an academically rigorous and engaging experience for our students. Honors faculty come from a variety of academic disciplines and complete Honors Faculty Certification to become eligible to teach honors courses.

Current Honors Faculty


  • Melissa Boyd
  • Jo Carlisle
  • Tammy Cherry
  • Samantha Ertenberg
  • Eugene Francis III
  • Jana Kinder
  • Elaina Lommason
  • Heidi Marshall
  • Marilyn Painter


  • Judith Bernanke
  • Scott Cason
  • Wilson Kaiser


  • Alicia Byrd
  • Nancy Eschen
  • Caroline Sampson
  • Matthew Simmons

Natural Sciences

  • Rebecca Hailey
  • Britta Hoffman
  • Doug Kines
  • Jeff Mans
  • Monica Parker
  • Bryan Spohn

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Daniel Cronrath
  • Troianne Grayson
  • Scott Matthews
  • Wesley Moody
  • Rebecca Reeder

Honors Steering Committee

The Honors Steering Committee provides direction on honors education at FSCJ, advising the director on major policies, and serving as representatives of the Honors Program in their respective departments. The Honors Steering Committee has a representative from each of the five general education areas for the Associate in Arts Degree and includes representatives from Academic Advising, Curriculum & Instruction, the Library and Learning Commons, and the Social and Behavioral Sciences Department Chair.

Meetings usually occur twice each fall and spring term. The Honors Director prepares the agendas, chairs meetings, and keeps records as the committee finds useful. Any member may offer items for discussion as the Honors Steering Committee sees fit.