FSCJ Announces New Member of District Board of Trustees for 2019-2020

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Florida State College at Jacksonville’s (FSCJ) District Board of Trustees welcomes Shantel Davis as its newest member, appointed by Governor Ron DeSantis. Ms. Davis replaces Trustee Palmer Clarkson.

“We are excited to welcome Ms. Davis and look forward to her leadership,” said FSCJ President John Avendano. “I would like to thank Trustee Palmer Clarkson for his service and extend our appreciation for his leadership and guidance during his time on our Board.”

Davis, of Jacksonville, is the vice president of real estate and facilities management for CSX Transportation. She has worked for CSX Transportation since 1999 and has served in her current role since 2017. Davis oversees operations of one of the largest fertilizer port terminals and is responsible for a $470 million portfolio. She completed the Harvard Business School Executive Leadership Development Program and was recognized among Diversity MBA Magazine’s Top 100 Under 50 Emerging Leaders. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of North Florida and her master’s degree in business administration from Jacksonville University.

Also serving on the Board are Thomas McGehee (Chair), Michael Bell (Vice Chair, Nassau County), Wayne Young (Vice Chair, Duval County), Jennifer Brown, Laura DiBella, Hunt Hawkins, Candace Holloway and Thomas Majdanics.

About FSCJ
Known as “the community’s college,” Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) exists to provide valuable, high-quality learning opportunities to anyone with the desire to enhance themselves through the pursuit of higher education. Serving more than 50,000 students and awarding more than 6,000 degrees and certificates on an annual basis, the College plays a significant role in supplying the region’s employers with a highly skilled, educated workforce.