2005-06 Tuition and Fees
Records Origination Fee
This fee is a processing fee and is non-refundable.
College Credit Registration Fees
|Eligible Georgia residents**
*includes technology fee and parking fee. Parking
fee may be waived. See other
policies for details.
**eligible Georgia residents reside in Brantley, Camden, Charlton,
Glynn and Ware counties.
Students enrolled in college preparatory instruction shall pay
the same fees charged for college credit courses.
Students enrolled in the same undergraduate college credit or
college preparatory course more than twice, shall pay course
fees at the non-Florida residents tuition rates. Attempts made
prior to Fall Term 1997 don’t apply.
After the second attempt, students have the option of enrolling
in adult education courses or using a private vendor for remedial
At the time of printing, new state excess credit
hour legislation, Section 1009.286, Florida Statutes, was pending
implementation. Students enrolled in courses that exceed graduation
requirements by 120 percent may be charged 75 percent over the
cost of in-state tuition and should consult the online catalog
on the College’s
Web Site for
Science laboratory fee per course
Online course fee
Materials fee per course
Fine arts fee per course
All applied music courses have an additional fee. All fine arts
courses beginning with prefixes ART, PGY and MUM have an additional
Selected courses have additional fees. The fee will be specified
at the time of registration.
Students may obtain this information from the enrollment services
Certificate Program and Continuing Education
Fees charged for non-credit occupational education
courses will be at least $1.89 per total class contact hour.
Fees charged for non-credit adult education courses will be at
least $0.95 per total class contact hour. In most instances,
fees for non-Florida residents are four times those of Florida
residents in addition to the in-state fees. Fees for avocational
and recreational courses vary according to the actual cost of
the course. In addition, some courses may be assessed a materials
fee. For actual course fees, check the current term’s continuing
education class schedule.
listed may be changed with approval of the District Board of
Trustees. Current fees shall be posted at the time of registration
for each term.
Applicants for admission to Florida Community
College are classified as Florida resident students or non-Florida
resident students for tuition assessment purposes.
The law allows U.S. Citizens and Lawful Permanent residents to
be classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes if the
applicant or the dependent applicant’s parent/legal guardian
has been a legal resident of the state for at least 12 months
preceding the first day of classes of the term for which Florida
residency is sought.
Note: The student who comes to Florida to enroll in a Florida
postsecondary educational institution as an out-of-state resident
and continuously enrolls in a Florida institution will not normally
meet the Florida residency requirement for in-state tuition regardless
of the length of time enrolled.
Section 1009.21, Florida Statutes, permits certain applicants
who do not meet the 12 month legal residence requirement to be
classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes. These exceptional
categories are as follows:
- Dependent children residing with a legal resident adult
relative other than the parent for at least 5 years.
- Persons married to legal Florida residents and who
intend to make Florida their permanent home, and who relinquish
their legal ties to any other state.
- Persons who were enrolled as Florida residents for
tuition purposes at a Florida public institution of higher
education, but who abandon Florida residency and then re-enroll
in Florida within 12 months of the abandonment.
- Active duty members of the armed services of the United
States residing or stationed in Florida (and spouse/ dependent
children) or military personnel not stationed in Florida whose
home or record or state of legal residence certificate, DD
Form 2058, is Florida (and spouse/dependent children).
- Active duty members of the armed service of the United
States and their spouses attending a public community college
or university within 50 miles of the military establishment
where they are stationed, if such military establishment is
within a county contiguous to Florida.
- United States citizens living on the Isthmus of Panama,
who have completed 12 consecutive months of college work at
the Florida State University Panama Canal Branch, and their
spouses and dependent children.
- Full time instructional and administrative personnel
employed by the State public school system, community colleges
and institutions of higher education (and spouse/dependent
- Students from Latin America and the Caribbean who
receive scholarships from the federal or state government.
The student must attend, on a full-time basis, a Florida institution
of higher education.
- Full-time employees of state agencies or political
subdivision of the state when the student fees are paid by
the state agency or political subdivision for the purpose
of job related law enforcement or corrections training.
- Qualified beneficiaries under the Florida Pre-Paid Postsecondary
- A dependent child whose parents are divorced, separated,
or otherwise living apart, will be considered a resident
for tuition purposes if either parent is a legal resident
of Florida, regardless of which parent claims the minor for
- Active members of the Florida National Guard (Army or
Air) who qualify under S.250.10(7) and (8) for the tuition
- Active duty members of the Canadian military residing or
stationed in this state under the North American Air Defense
(NORAD) agreement, and their spouses and dependent children,
attending a public community college or university within 50
miles of the military establishment where they are stationed.
The law allows non-U.S. citizens such
as lawful permanent residents, temporary permanent resident,
asylees, parolees, and refugees who have applied for and been
approved for such status and who otherwise meet the 12 months
legal residence requirements, to be eligible to establish Florida
residency for tuition purposes. Provided that the non-U.S. citizen
has proof of his or her permanent immigration status, he or she
may be classified as a Florida Resident 12 months from the time
he or she establishes legal Florida residence for tuition purposes.
The following is a list of nonimmigrant categories eligible to
establish Florida residency for tuition purposes.
Visa Categories are: A, E, G, H-1, H-4 (only if spouse or child
or alien classified H-1.), I, K, L, N, O-1, O-3 (Only if spouse
or child of O-1 alien), R, NATO-I-7, T, V.
Non-U.S. citizens in the following categories shall also be considered
eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition purposes:
- Citizens of Micronesia
- Citizens of the Marshall Islands
- Beneficiaries of the Family Unit Program
- Individuals granted:
- Temporary protected status
- Withholding of deportation status
- Suspension of deportation status or cancellation of removal
- A stay of deportation status
- Deferred enforced departure status
- Deferred action status
- Applicants for adjustment of status
- Asylum applicants with USCIS receipt or Immigration Court stamp
Applicants should be aware that a false statement
regarding residency status is punishable as a misdemeanor under
Florida Statutes, Section 837.06. If a statement is determined
to be false, student will be subject to discipline by the District
Board of Trustees, which may include expulsion and the withholding
Applicants who do not qualify as Florida students under these
provisions will pay the non-resident tuition and other charges
required of non-Florida students.
At the time of printing, new state residency legislation, Section
1009.21, Florida Statutes, was pending implementation. Students
requesting reclassification as a Florida resident for tuition
purposes should consult the online catalog on the College’s
Web Site for guidance.
The fee for late registration is $35.
Checks returned by the bank $25
This fee will not be assessed if the bank
certifies that the check was returned due to bank error. Unless
the returned check and $25 service charge are paid in full on
or before the prescribed deadline, students will be disenrolled
from all classes affected by this returned check. Students who
have been disenrolled from their classes can re-enroll through
the late registration process and shall be charged the late registration
fee. For one full calendar year, the College will not accept
a check from these students.
The majority of assessments administered by the assessment and certification centers require the payment of a fee. A $5 fee is also charged for additional score reports. These fees are paid in the campus business office prior to testing and are non-refundable. Students are not charged a fee for the Test of Adult Basic Education (TABE) or the first time they sit for the Information Literacy Assessment, the College Placement Test (CPT) and the College-Level Academic Skills Test (CLAST).
and liability insurance risk coverage fees per course:
The risk coverage fee is non-refundable if students withdraw
after the official close of the add/drop period for the term.
Items purchased by the College to permit the
conducting of ceremonies in accordance with established traditions
for special programs, primarily in the health-related education
area, will be charged to the affected students. Charges shall
not exceed the cost of the items purchased for students.
After you register, your courses are reserved
for you until your payment deadline. When we receive your payment,
your courses are locked in. If you choose not to pay by the payment
deadline, your course reservation will be canceled and you will
need to re-register. The College provides you with three ways
to pay for college credit courses: by Web, on campus
and by mail.
The easiest way to pay for your courses is
directly through Web registration system. You can pay using
a credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover
Card) or on the Web by enrolling in one of the available tuition
installment plans. You can pay at any time after you register,
but remember, if you choose to delay your payment it still must
be received by the deadline to lock in your schedule.
All financial aid and agency sponsored payments will automatically
be applied to the amount due when you register. If an amount remains
due, the operator will inform you of the amount due and the payment
You may pay your tuition and fees at the business
office on any Florida Community College campus. On campus, you
can use cash, check, money order or credit card (Visa, MasterCard,
American Express or Discover Card) to pay your fees. Drop boxes
are available at each campus location for payments by check or
Pay by mail instructions and forms are printed
in each College schedule.
Agency Sponsored Payments
Students are responsible for bringing
a copy of the authorization to any campus business affairs
office when a sponsoring agency or organization has agreed
in writing to reimburse Florida Community College for their
registration fees. Once the business office has entered the
authorization, any registration fees due from the student for
the term of the authorization will automatically be charged
to the sponsoring agency. Sponsored students will be liable
for any charges incurred on their behalf and will be billed
by the College if the sponsoring agency does not render payment
to the College in the prescribed manner. Students are required
to render payment within 30 days of the billing date.
Payment of Student Accounts Due the College
Florida Community College prohibits the registration
of, release of transcripts to, or the issuance of a certification
of completion or diploma to students whose accounts with the
College are delinquent. Students who fail to pay short-term loans,
veteran deferments or other debt by the date established by the
College may be disenrolled, subject to additional charges, reported
to a collection agency and the credit bureau, and will not be
able to register and receive transcripts.
A one hundred percent
(100%) refund of matriculation and tuition fees will be granted
to a student who officially drops a course prior to the end
of the College’s published drop/add period. Refunds are
subject to applicable federal and state guidelines and laws.
Refunds resulting from overpayment of tuition are automatically
processed beginning two calendar weeks from the 100 percent refund
date for the main session of the term. After this date, refunds
are processed weekly. Refunds are not processed automatically
before this date to allow students the maximum flexibility in
modifying their schedule.
Students who desire to receive refunds before the automatic processing
is scheduled may request a refund from any campus business office.
Refunds requested in this manner will be processed within five
business days as long as all other requirements for processing
a refund are met. Students paying by check must wait a minimum
of 10 days before requesting a refund.
Refunds will be disbursed in the same method as the payment was
originally received unless otherwise determined by the Bursar.
If the amount paid was received by a credit card, then a refund
will be initiated to the credit card. If the amount paid was
received by check, money order or cash, the refund will be returned
by check or electronic disbursement to the student’s bank
A refund will be processed to the student if the tuition amount
was originally paid by financial aid. When payment for tuition
is received from a sponsoring agency, the written authorization
from the sponsoring agency will determine whether refunds are
remitted to the student or to the agency.
Automatic refunds will only be made for overpayments greater
Any amount due to the student should be applied to his or her
outstanding debts before a refund is issued.
As published in the announcement, workshops
or seminars which require special arrangements may provide no
refund of fees if participants cancel after the time specified
in the announcement.
Refund checks or credit memoranda will be
made in accordance with the schedule established by the College.
However, students who are due a refund may request a refund earlier
at any campus business office. Students paying by check must
wait a minimum of 10 days before requesting a refund.
Students paying part of their tuition with cash/check and part
by credit card will receive a credit memoranda to their credit
The Campus President may approve disenrollment and a refund of
matriculation and tuition fees for a course or courses after
the official drop/add period. Approval will be granted based
on documented extenuating circumstances beyond the control
of the student such as involuntary call to active military
duty, college error and extensive hospitalization.
Students will complete a Request for Refund or Cancellation of
Debt form from the Campus Dean of Student Success office. If
approved and a refund is due, the refund will be made by College
check and will be mailed to the student at the address on file
with the College. Refunds will be mailed within 10 working days
of approval by the Campus President. If a refund is not approved,
the student will be notified.
The Campus President may deny the request, approve disenrollment
and a refund of tuition, or approve a waiver for the class to
Requests for Refund or Cancellation of Debt must be received
by the Campus Student Success office before the official withdrawal
date of the following term.
Special Programs Offering Financial Aid
The federal government’s Taxpayer’s Relief Act of
1997 (TRA ’97) provides new tax benefits to help families
meet the cost of post-secondary education. The TRA ’97
contains the Hope Scholarship Tax Credit for students in the
first two years of post-secondary (college and vocational) education
and the Lifetime Learning Tax Credit for other students. Because
each person’s tax situation is unique, students interested
in these tax credits should consult their tax advisor to determine
eligibility. More information can also be obtained by calling
the IRS at 800.829.1040 and asking for IRS publication 970
or logging on to the IRS Web site or
U.S. Department of Education Web site.