Tuition and Fees
Membership Application Fee
This fee is a processing fee and is non-refundable.
College Credit Registration Fees
*includes technology fee and parking fee. Parking
fee may be waived. See Other
Policies for details.
Students enrolled in college preparatory instruction shall pay
the same fees charged for college credit courses.
Students enrolled in the same undergraduate
college credit or college preparatory course more than twice,
shall pay course fees at the non-Florida residents tuition rates.
Attempts made prior to Fall Term 1997 don't apply.
After the second attempt, students have the
option of enrolling in adult education courses or using a private
vendor for remedial courses.
Science laboratory fee per course
Materials fee per course
Fine arts fee per course
All applied music courses have an additional
fee. All fine arts courses beginning with prefixes ART, PGY and
MUM have an additional fee.
Selected courses have additional fees. The fee
will be specified at the time of registration.
Students may obtain this information from the
enrollment services office.
Certificate Program and Continuing Education
Fees charged for non-credit occupational education
courses will be at least $1.52 per total class contact hour. Fees
charged for noncredit adult education courses will be at least
$0.86 per total class contact hour. In most instances, fees for
non-Florida residents are four times those of Florida residents
in addition to the in-state fees. Fees for a vocation and recreational
courses very according to the actual cost of the course. In addition,
some courses may be assessed a materials fee. For actual course
fees, check the current term's continuing education class schedule.
listed may be changed with approval of the District Board of Trustees.
Current fees shall be posted at the time of registration for each
Applicants for admission to FCCJ are classified
as Florida resident students or non-Florida resident students
for tuition assessment purposes.
The law allows US Citizens and Lawful Permanent
residents to be classified as a Florida resident for tuition purposes
if the applicant or the dependent applicant's parent/legal guardian
has been a legal resident of the state for at least 12 months
preceding the first day of classes of the term for which Florida
residency is sought.
who comes to Florida to enroll in a Florida postsecondary educational
institution as an out-of-state resident and continuously enrolls
in a Florida institution will not normally meet the Florida residency
requirement for instate tuition regardless of the length of time
Section 240.1201, Florida Statutes, permits
certain applicants who do not meet the 12 month legal residence
requirement to be classified as Florida residents for tuition
purposes. These exceptional categories are as follows:
- Dependent children residing with a legal resident adult relative
other than the parent for at least 5 years.
- Persons married to legal Florida residents and who intend
to make Florida their permanent home, and who relinquish their
legal ties to any other state.
- Persons who were enrolled as Florida residents for tuition
purposes at a Florida public institution of higher education,
but who abandon Florida residency and then re-enroll in Florida
within 12 months of the abandonment.
- Active duty members of the armed services of the United States
residing or stationed in Florida (and spouse/dependent children)
or military personnel not stationed in Florida whose home or
record or state of legal residence certificate, DD Form 2058,
is Florida (and spouse/dependent children).
- Active duty members of the armed service of the United States
and their spouses attending a public community college or university
within 50 miles of the military establishment where they are
stationed, if such military establishment is within a county
contiguous to Florida.
- United States citizens living on the Isthmus of Panama, who
have completed 12 consecutive months of college work at the
Florida State University Panama Canal Branch, and their spouses
and dependent children.
- Full time instructional and administrative personnel employed
by the State public school system, community colleges and institutions
of higher education (and spouse/dependent children.)
- Students from Latin America and the Caribbean who receive
scholarships from the federal or state government. The student
must attend, on a full-time basis, a Florida institution of
- Full-time employees of state agencies or political subdivision
of the state when the student fees are paid by the state agency
or political subdivision for the purpose of job related law
enforcement or corrections training.
- Qualified beneficiaries under the Florida Pre-Paid Postsecondary
- A dependent child whose parents are divorced, separated,
or otherwise living apart, will be considered a resident for
tuition purposes if either parent is a legal resident of Florida,
regardless of which parent claims the minor for tax purposes.
- Active duty members of the Canadian military residing or
stationed in this state under the North American Air Defense
(NORAD) agreement, and their spouses and dependent children,
attending a public community college or university within 50
miles of the military establishment where they are stationed.
The law allows non-U.S. citizens such as lawful
permanent residents, temporary permanent resident, asylees, parolees,
and refugees who have applied for and been approved for such status
and who otherwise meet the 12 months legal residence requirements,
to be eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition purposes.
Provided that the non-U.S. citizen has proof of his or her permanent
immigration status, he or she may be classified as a Florida Resident
12 months from the time he or she establishes legal Florida residence
for tuition purposes. The following is a list of nonimmigrant
categories eligible to establish Florida residency for tuition
Visa Categories are: A, E, G, H-1, H-4 (only
if spouse or child or alien classified H-1.), I, K, L, N, O-1,
-O-3 (Only if spouse or child of O-1 alien), R, NATO-I-7.
Non-U.S. Citizens in the following categories
shall also be considered eligible to establish Florida residency
for tuition purposes:
- Citizens of Micronesia
- Citizens of the Marshall Islands
- Beneficiaries of the Family Unit Program
- Individuals granted:
- Temporary protected status
- Withholding of deportation status
- Suspension of deportation status or cancellation of removal
- A stay of deportation status
- Deferred enforced departure status
- Deferred action status
- Applicants for adjustment of status
- Asylum applicants with INS receipt or Immigration Court stamp
Applicants should be aware that a false statement
regarding residency status is punishable as a misdemeanor under
Florida Statutes, Section 837.06. If a statement is determined
to be false, student will be subject to discipline by the District
Board of Trustees, which may include expulsion and the withholding
Applicants who do not qualify as Florida students
under these provisions will pay the non-resident tuition and other
charges required of non-Florida students.
Students requesting to reclassify as a Florida
Resident for tuition purposes must:
- Complete a residency reclassification form.
- Have documentation verifying residency and intent to make
Florida their home 12 months prior to the first day of classes
for the term of reclassification, and
- Submit all documents and forms prior to the drop deadline
for the term of reclassification.
- Students who are spouses, dependents or minors must present
documents in the name of the person who is a Florida resident.
Student may apply for residency reclassification at any campus
enrollment services office.
The fee for late registration is $35.
Checks returned by the bank $25
This fee will not be assessed if the bank certifies
that the check was returned due to bank error. Unless the returned
check and $15 service charge are paid in full on or before the
prescribed deadline, students will be disenrolled from all classes
affected by this returned check. Students who have been disenrolled
from their classes can re-enroll through the late registration
process and shall be charged the late registration fee. For one
full calendar year, the College will not accept a check from these
Test fees will be waived for students enrolled
in a high school course for credit, if students wish to take the
test for that particular course.
Test fees are to be paid at time of making
application for the test. Test fees are nonrefundable and are
subject to change. FCCJ currently offers the CPT and CLAST examination
for degree seeking students with out charge. Visit your campus
assessment and certification center for a complete list of current
Professional malpractice and liability insurance
risk coverage fees per course:
The risk coverage fee is nonrefundable
if students withdraw after the official close of the add/drop
period for the term.
Items purchased by the College to permit the
conducting of ceremonies in accordance with established traditions
for special programs, primarily in the health-related education
area, will be charged to the affected students. Charges shall
not exceed the cost of the items purchased for students.
After you register, your courses are reserved
for you until your payment deadline. When we receive your payment,
your courses are locked in. If you choose not to pay by the payment
deadline, your course reservation will be canceled, and you will
need to re-register. The College provides you with four ways to
pay for college credit courses: by Web, telephone, on campus and
The easiest way to pay for your courses is
directly through either the Web registration system or by Touch-Tone
telephone registration. You can pay using a credit card (Visa,
MasterCard, American Express or Discover Card) or on the Web
enrolling in one of the available tuition installment plans.
You can pay at any time after you register, but remember, if
to delay your payment it still must be received by the deadline
to lock in your schedule.
All financial aid and agency sponsored payments
will automatically be applied to the amount due when you register.
If an amount remains due, the operator will inform you of the
amount due and the payment date.
You may pay your tuition and fees at the business
office on any Florida Community College campus. On campus, you
can use cash, check, money order or credit card (Visa, MasterCard,
American Express or Discover Card) to pay your fees. Drop boxes
are available at each campus location for payments by check or
Pay by mail instructions and forms are printed
in each college schedule.
Agency Sponsored Payments
When a sponsoring agency or organization
has agreed in writing to reimburse FCCJ for the registration fees
and/or books for students, these students are responsible for
bringing a copy of the authorization to any campus business office.
Once the business office has entered the authorization, any registration
fees due from the student for the term of the authorization will
automatically be applied. If the sponsoring agency does not render
payment to the College in the prescribed manner, the sponsored
students will be liable for any charges incurred on their behalf
and will be billed by the College. Students will be required to
render payment within 30 days of the billing date.
Payment of Student Accounts Due the College
FCCJ prohibits the registration of, release
of transcripts to, or the issuance of a certification of completion
or diploma to students whose accounts with the College are delinquent.
Students who fail to pay short-term loans, veteran deferments
or other debt by the date established by the College may be disenrolled,
subject to additional charges, reported to a collection agency
and the credit bureau, and will not be able to register and receive
Refunds for cancelled classes will be processed
automatically on a timely basis by the finance department.
Students who wish to drop a class to receive
a refund or clear their financial aid must report to the campus
enrollment services office and complete a drop card no later than
five business days after the beginning date of class or the date
shown on the registration receipt, whichever is later. No refund
of fees will be made on classes for which the fee is less than
$5, unless the College cancels the class.
If a veterans deferment is authorized and
the College cancels the class(es) or the registration of students
is cancelled, the deferment will be reduced by the amount of
the cancelled class(es) for students.
Amounts due the College will be deducted
before any check or credit memorandum to the credit card account
As published in the announcement, workshops
or seminars which require special arrangements may provide no
refund of fees if participants cancel after the time specified
in the announcement.
Refund checks or credit memoranda will be made
in accordance with the schedule established by the College. However,
students who are due a refund may request a refund earlier at
any campus business office. Students paying by check must wait
a minimum of 10 days before requesting a refund.
Students paying part of their tuition with
cash/check and part by credit card will receive a credit memoranda
to their credit card.