2016-17 Faculty Award Winners Announced

2016-17 Faculty Award Winners Announced

FSCJ is proud to announce four faculty award winners for the 2016-17 academic year following a nomination process that was open to both students and staff in the College community. For the first time, student evaluators were included in the selection process, as they served alongside faculty in selecting the following honorees:

Shawna Coram, M.A. (Professor of Business and Accounting; School of Business, Professional Studies and Public Safety) has been recognized with the Innovative Faculty Technology Award. Her pedagogy stands out for the variety of tech tools she has integrated into her teaching, including Blendspace lessons, Kahoot, Poll Everywhere, Remind.com, Jing, SnagIt, YouTube, Educreations, iMovie, Kaltura and commercially produced shows (CNBC’s The Profit) that add an applied dimension to course content. Student support for her work stands out not only for their praise of her class structure, but because of the personal touch that underlies her approach.

Rebecca Levy, M.F.A. (Professor of Dance; School of Liberal Arts, Communication and Education) has been recognized with an Outstanding Faculty Award. Highlights of her nomination included strong relationships she builds with her students, with an emphasis on transition to life beyond FSCJ, including her work in co-founding the Jacksonville Dance Theatre in response to the absence of professional opportunities for local dancers. Professor Levy is also the director of danceWORKS, FSCJ’s repertoire company, which, in addition to performing at FSCJ throughout the year, performs locally at a variety of community outlets.

Lourdes Norman, Ph. D. (Professor of Biological Sciences; School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) has been recognized with an Outstanding Faculty Award. Highlights of her nomination included evidence of her ability to meaningfully engage and inspire students in rigorous science classes connected to career pathways, her emphasis on hands-on, technology-enhanced learning in which students can see and interact with subjects about which they are learning, as well as a number of achievements in curriculum and external funding.

Susan Reilly, Ph. D. (Professor of Economics; School of Social, Behavioral and Health Sciences) has been recognized with an Outstanding Faculty Award. Highlights of her nomination included her strong leadership of the Social and Behavioral Science Council, her work in establishing and maintaining FSCJ’s Center for Economic and Financial Education and her strong connection with students both in and beyond the classroom, including her active Twitter presence.

Awardees will be formally congratulated at an October luncheon hosted by Dr. Cynthia Bioteau. In the meantime, please offer your congratulations and appreciation to our colleagues for their outstanding work!