North Campus

Mallard Room

Culinary Arts & Hospitality

The Mallard Room is a simulated restaurant lab located at North Campus next to the cafeteria. It is operated by students and faculty in the Florida State College at Jacksonville culinary arts and hospitality programs in a simulated fine dining setting. As a participant in this learning experience, we ask that you dress in a manner consistent with the learning space, commonly described as “business casual” (no shorts, tee shirts, flip-flops, etc.).

Gratuities are appreciated and are utilized for special student activities carried out by the classes at the end of each term.

Menus

Menu theme schedules, such as American regional or International cuisine will be posted each term. Actual menu item choices are part of the curriculum and often change given the seasonal nature of food items, as well as availability. Typically one meat item, such as beef, pork or veal is offered, as well as one poultry and one seafood item. Menus will be available and printed the same day as the meal theme being served. We ask that those wishing to experience the dining lab bring an adventuresome spirit and be willing to experience a variety of ingredients and cuisines. Those with limited food preferences or strict dietary restrictions may be challenged with the Mallard Room experience. In most cases, the chef instructor of the day will be glad to prepare a vegetarian alternative. Please request when making your reservation.

Reservations

For reservations, please call (904) 766-5555. Note: When leaving your reservation request, include your name, the date and time you would like your reservation and your telephone number. You will be called to confirm your reservation.

The dining lab is established as what is called an “à la carte setting.” As such, we ask that you limit your reservations to no more than six guests, so we may realistically meet the objectives of the courses being carried out. We typically do not book large parties, again to better accommodate course objectives and to provide an open opportunity for our public to be able to experience the dining lab.

Demand for Mallard Room reservations are often sought after. We recommend making reservations two weeks ahead. Given the unpredictable nature, we cannot guarantee that openings will be available for your first choice; however, we will be glad to help you with alternative dates and times. We ask that you limit your reservations to one time in order to maintain an open opportunity for new guests to experience our learning lab, as well as assisting the instructors in carrying out the courses learning objectives. After you have concluded your meal for your current reservation, you are welcome to make a future reservation.

Spring 2015 Schedule - American Regional

Lunch is served Tues., Thurs.and Fri from 11 a.m.-noon. Seatings at 11 a.m., 11:30 a.m. and 11:45 a.m. Menu is $9 (not including gratuity).

Dinner is served Thurs., 6:30-7:15 p.m. Seatings at 6:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. Menu is $11 (not including gratuity).

Reservations can be made by calling (904) 766-5555.

Date Lunch/Dinner Theme 
Tues., Feb. 10 Lunch New England
Thurs., Feb. 12 Lunch New England
Thurs., Feb. 12 Dinner New England
Fri., Feb. 13 Lunch New England
Tues., Feb. 17 Lunch New Orleans
Thurs., Feb. 19 Lunch New Orleans
Thurs., Feb. 19 Dinner New Orleans
Fri., Feb. 20 Lunch New Orleans
Tues., Feb. 24 Lunch Southern
Thurs., Feb. 26 Lunch Southern
Thurs., Feb. 26 Dinner Southern
Fri., Feb. 27 Lunch Southern
Tues., March 3 Lunch Heartland
Thurs., March 5 Lunch Heartland
Thurs., March 5 Dinner Heartland
Fri., March 6 Lunch Heartland
Tues., March 10 Lunch Southwest
Thurs., March 12 Lunch Southwest
Thurs., March 12 Dinner Southwest
Fri., March 13 Lunch Southwest
Mon.-Sat., March 16-22 Closed - Spring Break
Tues., March 24 Lunch California
Thurs., March 26 Lunch California
Thurs., March 26 Dinner California
Fri., March 27 Lunch California
Tues., March 31 Lunch Northwest
Thurs., April 2 Lunch Northwest
Thurs., April 2 Dinner Northwest
Fri., April 3 Lunch Northwest
Tues., April 7 Lunch Florida
Thurs., April 9 Lunch Florida
Thurs., April 9 Dinner Florida
Fri., April 10 Lunch Florida
Tues., April 14 Lunch Hawaii
Thurs., April 16 Lunch Hawaii
Thurs., April 16 Dinner Hawaii
Fri., April 17 Lunch Hawaii


 


Search the Course Catalog

Click on any of the useful links below to get started:

Search Courses Class Schedules
Catalog Register

Questions?

To learn more about programs offered by the Culinary Arts and Hospitality Program, call (904) 766-6703.

Get Started

Are you ready to get ahead?

Apply Now