North Campus

Mallard Room

Culinary Arts & Hospitality

The Mallard Room is a simulated restaurant lab located at North Campus next to the cafeteria. It is operated by students and faculty in the Florida State College at Jacksonville culinary arts and hospitality programs in a simulated fine dining setting. As a participant in this learning experience, we ask that you dress in a manner consistent with the learning space, commonly described as “business casual” (no shorts, tee shirts, flip-flops, etc.).

Gratuities are appreciated and are utilized for special student activities carried out by the classes at the end of each term.


Menu theme schedules, such as American regional or International cuisine will be posted each term. Actual menu item choices are part of the curriculum and often change given the seasonal nature of food items, as well as availability. Typically one meat item, such as beef, pork or veal is offered, as well as one poultry and one seafood item. Menus will be available and printed the same day as the meal theme being served. We ask that those wishing to experience the dining lab bring an adventuresome spirit and be willing to experience a variety of ingredients and cuisines. Those with limited food preferences or strict dietary restrictions may be challenged with the Mallard Room experience. In most cases, the chef instructor of the day will be glad to prepare a vegetarian alternative. Please request when making your reservation.


For reservations, please call (904) 766-5555. Note: When leaving your reservation request, include your name, the date and time you would like your reservation and your telephone number. You will be called to confirm your reservation.

The dining lab is established as what is called an “à la carte setting.” As such, we ask that you limit your reservations to no more than six guests, so we may realistically meet the objectives of the courses being carried out. We typically do not book large parties, again to better accommodate course objectives and to provide an open opportunity for our public to be able to experience the dining lab.

Demand for Mallard Room reservations are often sought after. We recommend making reservations two weeks ahead. Given the unpredictable nature, we cannot guarantee that openings will be available for your first choice; however, we will be glad to help you with alternative dates and times. We ask that you limit your reservations to one time in order to maintain an open opportunity for new guests to experience our learning lab, as well as assisting the instructors in carrying out the courses learning objectives. After you have concluded your meal for your current reservation, you are welcome to make a future reservation.

Fall 2015 Schedule - International

Lunch is served Tues., Thurs.and Fri from 11 a.m.-noon. Seatings at 11 a.m., 11:30 a.m. and 11:45 a.m. Menu is $9 (not including gratuity).

Dinner is served Thurs., 6:30-7:15 p.m. Seatings at 6:30 p.m. and 7 p.m. Menu is $11 (not including gratuity).

Reservations can be made by calling (904) 766-5555.

Date Lunch/Dinner Region
Tues., Sept. 22 Lunch France
Thurs., Sept. 24 Lunch France
Thurs., Sept. 24 Dinner France
Fri., Sept. 25 Lunch France
Tues., Sept. 29 Lunch Italy
Thurs., Oct. 1 Lunch Italy
Thurs., Oct. 1 Dinner Italy
Fri., Oct. 2 Lunch Italy
Tues., Oct. 6 Lunch Germany
Thurs., Oct. 8 Lunch Germany
Thurs., Oct. 8 Dinner Germany
Fri., Oct. 9 Lunch Germany
Tues., Oct. 13 Lunch Middle East
Thurs., Oct. 15 Lunch Middle East
Thurs., Oct. 15 Dinner Middle East
Fri., Oct. 16 Lunch Middle East
Tues., Oct. 20 Lunch British Isles
Thurs., Oct. 22 Lunch British Isles
Thurs., Oct. 22 Dinner British Isles
Fri., Oct. 23 Lunch British Isles
Tues., Oct. 27 Lunch Thailand & Vietnam
Thurs., Oct. 29 Lunch Thailand & Vietnam
Thurs., Oct. 29 Dinner Thailand & Vietnam
Fri., Oct. 30 Lunch Thailand & Vietnam
Tues., Nov. 3 Lunch China & Japan
Thurs., Nov. 5 Lunch China & Japan
Thurs., Nov. 5 Dinner China & Japan
Fri., Nov. 6 Lunch China & Japan
Tues., Nov. 10 Lunch South America
Thurs., Nov. 12 Lunch South America
Thurs., Nov. 12 Dinner South America
Fri., Nov. 13 Lunch South America
Tues., Nov. 17 Lunch India
Thurs., Nov. 19 Lunch India
Thurs., Nov. 19 Dinner India
Fri., Nov. 20 Lunch India


Search the Course Catalog

Click on any of the useful links below to get started:

Search Courses Class Schedules
Catalog Register


To learn more about programs offered by the Culinary Arts and Hospitality Program, call (904) 766-6703.

Get Started

Are you ready to get ahead?

Apply Now